Tag: Todd Terje

Prins Thomas

Prins Thomas

The words ‘Space Disco’ can’t be uttered without mention of Prins Thomas. A pioneer of a genre synonymous with his native Norway, Thomas Moen Hermansen has often remixed many heavyweights including Todd Terje, The Orb. But is his collaboration with Hans-Peter Lindstrøm as Lindstrøm & Prins Thomas, which has brought him to my attention. The pair has worked together on some exceptional releases with the space disco influences. One such record I recently purchased was ‘Reinterpretations’, a compilation of remixes and unreleased versions of tracks from the album, falling more on the ambient side of space disco. This record contains a track, which I feel is a perfect accompaniment to the twilight of a hot summers day ”Feel PM”.

His music over the years has drifted away from the dance floor, negotiating the space between psychedelic rock and Krautrock. This being evidenced in throughout 2010-14 in his self-titled album series 1-3 released own label Full Pupp.

The pair followed their self-titled debut in 2005 with another collaboration Lindstrøm & Prins Thomas II in 2009. 2016 brought he release of a hotly anticipated 4LP album ‘Principe Del Norte’. Derek Miller of Resident Advisor describes this incredible album better than I could try…. https://www.residentadvisor.net/reviews/18632

More recent offerings have seen Thomas rework tracks on the Orbs 12″ ‘Alpine’ that was released on Kompakt earlier this year. Titled ‘Alpine Diskomiks/Sin in Space Pt.2’ space-disco producer has given his slant on three tracks stepping away from the ambient style of his LP solo and collaborative attempts.

Most recently he has remixed Roosevelt “Colours” from his self-titled album on ‘Colours’ EP’s. A bit of a cheesy single, but would make for a good summer dance track.


Todd Terje’s 2016

Todd Terje’s 2016

Last night brought the news of Todd Terje latest release – the next instalment of the Dansbar E.P. series on his label Olsen records. So I thought it would be a good time to do a rundown of Todd’s year so far.

Terje Olsen has to be one of my favourite producers of all time. Since seeing him at Together Halloween Turnmills way back in 2007, I’ve been hooked. What is described as ‘Space Disco’ has been a stalwart of my mixes and record collection for many, many years, and the quality releases seem to be increasing year after year!

Following on from the success of ‘It’s Album Time’ Terje has been touring, focusing mainly on his live set with his band The Olsens in 2016. That hasn’t stopped him from recording and releasing an E.P. of disco covers. Although I enjoyed ‘The Big Cover-Up,’ I was left a little underwhelmed with this July release. Although saying that, the Prins Thomas remix of “La Fete Sauvage” is exceptional. A song originally composed by a Greek composer Vangelis for a 1975 animal wildlife documentary (I must see this).

While touring he has still found the time to Launch the Dansbar series, an exploration of the roots of Scandinavian Disco. He started this off back in May with a reissue of Beranek‘s “Dra Te Hælvete.” Terje goes back to his re-editing roots alongside Prins Thomas with four remixes of a notorious track in Norway. The song by musician and comedian Beranek was banned by national TV and radio for profanity but has become a cult hit for risk taking Scandinavian Dj’s.

Up next came a delight to my ears. Dixon and Luke Abbott remixing a classic Terje track ”Snooze 4 Love”. The original has to go down as one of my all time favourite tracks. This B-side wonder on Todd Terje ‎– ‘Ragysh’ released on Running back has now been given a new twist. Though many would argue the Dixon edit is just a retouch to work better in his sets, Luke Abbot does bring a novel approach to the much-loved song.

Yesterday saw the announcement of the latest in the Dansbar series. He Returns with a take on Holm CPU‘s oddball tune “Fotspor,” off his 1981 LP on Polydor. In this, himself, Bjørn Torske, Rune Lindbæk and Bobby Spice (an artist I’m unaware of) share remix duties. Press release stating “the ever intrepid Torske takes the reins for the B2, while lesser-known Oslo scenester Bobby Spice rounds out the 12-inch with his take on “Fotspor.”

“Fotspor” will be released on Olsen Records on September 9th, 2016.